Northeast Frontier Railway NFR Act Apprentice Recruitment 2026: Apply Online for 6777 Posts
Applications for this post have closed
The last date to apply was 19 Aug 2026. The notification below is kept for reference. See jobs open now.
Vacancies
6777 Posts
Salary
₹9,600
Qualification
Educational Qualification Category of Trade Minimum Qualification All trades except Medical Laboratory Technician (Pathology/Radiology) Passed Matriculation ( Class 10 ) or equivalent with minimum 50% aggregate marks from a recognized board, plus National Trade Certificate ( ITI ) or Provisional Certificate from NCVT/SCVT in the notified trade Medical Laboratory Technician (Pathology) & Medical Laboratory Technician (Radiology) Passed 12th Class under 10+2 system with Physics, Chemistry and Biology, with minimum 50% marks in both Class 10 and Class 12 The minimum requirement of 50% aggregate marks in Matriculation is not applicable to candidates belonging to SC/ST/PwBD categories. Only completing the ITI course is not sufficient - candidates must be in possession of their ITI pass certificate/NTC/STC as on the date of the notification (14-07-2026). Nationality/Domicile Not specified in official notification.
Age limit
15–24 years
Opens on
20 Jul 2026
Application fee
₹100
Location
Assam, West Bengal, Bihar (NFR jurisdiction
Closes on
19 Aug 2026
Admit card
To be announced
About this recruitment
Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR) has issued a Centralized Notification No. NFR/NAPS/ACT APP./2026 dated 14-07-2026 inviting online applications for engagement of Act Apprentices under the Apprentices Act 1961, for the training cycles 2025-2026 and 2026-2027. The recruitment covers 6777 training slots spread across eight Divisions and Workshops of NFR in Assam, West Bengal and Bihar. Candidates who have passed Matriculation and hold an ITI trade certificate in a notified trade can apply online. This article explains the NFR Apprentice 2026 important dates, unit-wise vacancies, eligibility, age limit, fee, stipend, selection process and how to apply, based strictly on the official notification.
Eligibility
Educational Qualification Category of Trade Minimum Qualification All trades except Medical Laboratory Technician (Pathology/Radiology) Passed Matriculation ( Class 10 ) or equivalent with minimum 50% aggregate marks from a recognized board, plus National Trade Certificate ( ITI ) or Provisional Certificate from NCVT/SCVT in the notified trade Medical Laboratory Technician (Pathology) & Medical Laboratory Technician (Radiology) Passed 12th Class under 10+2 system with Physics, Chemistry and Biology, with minimum 50% marks in both Class 10 and Class 12 The minimum requirement of 50% aggregate marks in Matriculation is not applicable to candidates belonging to SC/ST/PwBD categories. Only completing the ITI course is not sufficient - candidates must be in possession of their ITI pass certificate/NTC/STC as on the date of the notification (14-07-2026). Nationality/Domicile Not specified in official notification.
Age limit in full
Candidates must be not below 15 years and not above 24 years of age as on the closing date of application, i.e., 19-08-2026. Category Upper Age Relaxation SC/ST 5 years OBC 3 years PwBD 10 years Ex-Servicemen (ExSM) 10 years plus 3 years, to the extent of service rendered in Defence Forces (minimum 6 months continuous service required); applicable to self-applicants only, not to their children For children of ex-servicemen, the same age relaxation as applicable to their respective community (UR/SC/ST/OBC) will apply.
Pay and allowances
Minimum stipend for NTC/STC holders: ₹9,600 per month , effective from 11-09-2025, as per G.S.R. 610(E) dated 03-09-2025 issued by the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (RBE No. 116/2025). Where one or two years' exemption is admissible under the Apprenticeship curriculum: ₹10,560/month (2nd year, 10% increase) and ₹11,040/month (3rd year, 15% increase). Stipend rates are subject to revision from time to time as notified by the appropriate authority. No hostel accommodation is provided; apprentices must make their own arrangements during training.
Important dates
- Advertised On
- 2026-07-15
- Apply Start
- 2026-07-20
- Apply End
- 2026-08-19
Vacancy breakdown
| Unit (Division/Workshop) | Slots | Annexure |
|---|---|---|
| Katihar (KIR) & Tindharia (TDH) Workshop | 1103 | Annexure-I |
| Alipurduar (APDJ) | 651 | Annexure-II |
| Rangiya (RNY) | 750 | Annexure-III |
| Lumding (LMG) | 1274 | Annexure-IV |
| Tinsukia (TSK) | 860 | Annexure-V |
| New Bongaigaon Workshop (NBQS) & Engineering Workshop (EWS/BNGN) | 881 | Annexure-VI |
| Dibrugarh Workshop (DBWS) | 763 | Annexure-VII |
| Headquarter (HQ)/Maligaon | 495 | Annexure-VIII |
| Total | 6777 |
Application fee
- General/OBC/EWS (male)
- ₹100/- (non-refundable)
- SC/ST/PwBD/EBC candidates
- Exempted
- Women candidates (all categories)
- Exempted
Selection process
- Selection is purely merit-based, with no written examination. The merit list for each unit is prepared using the percentage of marks in Matriculation (minimum 50% aggregate) plus ITI marks in the relevant trade; the final panel is based on the average of the two.
- For Medical Laboratory Technician (Pathology) and (Radiology), merit is based on Matriculation marks plus 12th Science (Physics, Chemistry, Biology) marks.
- Calculation uses marks obtained in all subjects of Matriculation/12th, not select subjects, and the average ITI marks across all semesters (or the National Trade Certificate marks).
- Merit lists are prepared unit-wise, trade-wise and community-wise, in descending order of percentage, equal to the number of notified slots.
- Shortlisted candidates are called for Document Verification (DV) to the extent of 1.5 times the notified vacancies.
- A candidate is considered for only one combination of Unit-Department-Trade based on merit and order of preference; once selected against a higher preference, all lower preferences are automatically cancelled.
- In case of a tie in marks, the older candidate (by age) is ranked higher; if date of birth is also the same, the candidate who passed Matriculation earlier is ranked higher.
At a glance
- Particulars
- Details
- Organization
- Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR), Personnel Department
- Notification No
- NFR/NAPS/ACT APP./2026
- Notification Date
- 14-07-2026
- Apprenticeship Cycle
- 2025-2026 & 2026-2027
- Application Mode
- Online
- Job Location
- Assam, West Bengal, Bihar (NFR jurisdiction)
